Inputting a name

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
SamKablam
Prole

Inputting a name

Post by SamKablam »

Hello!

I'm new to LOVE LUA and I'm trying to make my first project. It's just going to be a simple text-based adventure and I wanted to start it off with the player inputting their name. So far, I'm having trouble figuring out how to do this, and when the function should be called. So far, it looks like this:

array_Name = {}
int_nameDraw = 50

function draw()

love.graphics.draw("Welcome to Super Text and Graphics Quest!! Enter your name now!", 25, 25)
love.graphics.draw(array_Name, int_nameDraw, 50)
end

function keypressed(key)

for i = 1,i++ do
if key ~= love.key_enter then
array_Name = key
int_NameDraw = int_NameDraw+5
end
end
end

Please let me know if there's an easier way to do this, thanks!
Robin
The Omniscient

Re: Inputting a name

Post by Robin »

Remove the for loop. keypressed is called by LÖVE every time a key is pressed, so you don't have to have a loop.

And an easier way than using a table for this would be using a string. You could simply do:

Code: Select all

function keypressed(key)
        Name = Name .. string.char(key)
    end
end
Thirdly, for things like this, you might want to use a GUI library -- which LÖVE has in abundance.
Help us help you: attach a .love.
SamKablam
Prole

Post by SamKablam »

Ok, I tried removing the loop, replacing it with what you wrote, and then having the draw function type the Name variable, but all I got was an error. Here's what I have now:

function load()

defaultfont = love.graphics.newFont(love.default_font, 14);
	fontfile = love.graphics.newFont("LOTR.TTF", 14);

love.graphics.setFont(fontfile); -- change the font in here to see the changes
	love.graphics.setColor(255,255,255,255)
	str_Name = nil

end

function update(dt)
end

function draw()