Newbie question

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
dr.jack
Prole

Newbie question

Post by dr.jack »

Hello,

I am very interested in realizing a little retro game in the style of Maniac Mansion, would anyone have examples, demos etc to tell me.
Some links or others to put me on the right way

thank you
raidho36
Party member

Re: Newbie question

Post by raidho36 »

That looks like a compex game with a lot of stuff going on. Chances are, as a newbie, you won't be able to pull that off. Try building up programming experience with simpler projects. There are plenty of tutorials on making simple games and specific game elements.
dr.jack
Prole

Post by dr.jack »

Hello Raidho36,

Thanks for reply.

I want to mean that i'm a newbie in LUA/LOVE but i'm a experienced coder (Java, C and other langages for 20 years), with good maths skills.
So i can understand some pieces of code or examples/demo to make a small game.

I search only a start point in fact
raidho36
Party member

Post by raidho36 »

Ah! Sheepollution I heard has a number of good tutorials.

But in fact all you need to get started is user manual. Need to draw a sprite? Consult the manual. Need to grab input? Consult the manual. Need to update gamestate? Consult the manual. In fact I suggest you browse the manual to see what the engine can do. Same goes with the language itself (by the way it's called Lua, it's not an abbreviation, it means "Moon" in portugese). With your experience you should have absolutely no problem with figuring out algorithms to accomplish the things you want to accomplish.