Help with light effects

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
jdoolin
Prole

Help with light effects

Post by jdoolin »

I could use some help from those more experienced with graphics than myself.

I've been busy working on a strategy RPG along the lines of Shining Force on for the Genesis. I've been having more fun programming than I have in a long time. I've been programming for 20 years but I'm relatively new to game programming. Still, I've learned lots and I've come a long way. Anyway, I have an effect I would like to implement. Perhaps I can say it best with an example.

I have a town map (learning to use Tiled, and I have purchased some wonderful graphics assets). In this town, there may be fireplaces, braziers, torches, lanterns or other sources of light. During the day, I would like my map to render normally. But during night, I would like it to look dark and with those light sources making those local regions brighter.

I realize there are complex lighting engines out there but I'm not so sure I need that much. I think I just want things to look brighter wherever there is a light source. Maybe do some things like fireflies too. I'm really not sure where to start. I'm great at reading documentation and figuring out examples, however. So I don't necessarily need a thorough explanation if there are good examples to look at.

I'm not opposed to fancier lighting solutions either, if they aren't much work. But any help or guidance would be very much appreciated.

By the way, here is a screenshot of something like what I'm looking for:
randomnovice
Party member

Re: Help with light effects

Post by randomnovice »

If you've been programming for 20 years I'm not sure I can be of much help...!
But I'll try anyway and feel free to disregard :)