t.window.icon error : file does not exist

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Mahdi
Prole

t.window.icon error : file does not exist

Post by Mahdi »

hi. i am a beginner in game development and i searched the forum for this issue and found none. hopefully this is not a repetitive topic.

i am using Intellij IDE with lua language to code, and i am running Love using command prompt ( I have another issue which is integrating Love pluging into Intellij).

in the conf.lua file, i have written the code(among other codes):
function love.conf(t)
t.window.icon = "myicon.png"

... and the myicon.png file is in the same directory as main.lua and conf.lua but when i run love, the default Love icon shows up at top left. and when i replace the "myicon.png" with the file path, Love runs the blue screen error with "file does not exist".

sidenote:
can anyone also help me with getting Love to run from inside Intellij?
thank you very much.
ertt
Prole

Re: t.window.icon error : file does not exist

Post by ertt »

Hey.

Löve-Applications are running in a sandbox. You cannot access files outsite of this box.
So you can only reference files in the main-folder or included folders, not outside. It is not possible to reference to files in (for example) "c:\users\icon.png" but from "assets/icon.png" where "assets" is a folder application-root.

ertt
zorg
Party member

Post by zorg »

ertt wrote: Wed May 15, 2019 1:30 pm Löve-Applications are running in a sandbox. You cannot access files outsite of this box.
So you can only reference files in the main-folder or included folders, not outside. It is not possible to reference to files in (for example) "c:\users\icon.png" but from "assets/icon.png" where "assets" is a folder application-root.
Except the OP did say that