Do these memory management techniques work in Lua?

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Bogdan705
Prole

Do these memory management techniques work in Lua?

Post by Bogdan705 »

I managed once again to fall down the rabbit hole of internet articles and eventually stumbled upon a few articles regarding two memory management techniques : something called Data Locality and Object Pools

While the code itself is written in a C language ( can't tell which one because I have no experience with C/C#/C++ ), I'm wondering if these methods can help boost performance, especially since the CPU and such is voodoo magic for me. My guess is.. kinda not? the Object Pool part does seem really useful, but the Data Locality, not so much ... afaik all variables in Lua are already pointers, and the article for Data Locality makes me believe pointer speed issues are a C specific thing, thus rendering an implementation in Lua kinda... pointless

BADUM TSS

Now, in all seriousness, can someone please offer some clarification about this topic?
Last edited by Bogdan705 on Tue Jul 02, 2019 7:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
KSP has thaught me that if you aim for the Mun and miss, you'll crash violently into the ground.
zorg
Party member

Re: Do these memory management techniques work in Lua?

Post by zorg »

First, your links are errorenous, you should delete the "//url" from the end of them;
Second, we could also add the SoA vs AoS debate into the mix as well, or whether ECS is more performant than OOP or not.

Anyway, you need to know that Löve by default uses LuaJIT, which is a just in time compiler that turns lua code into efficient bytecode that can be (nearly) as performant as a C implementation, in a lot of cases.