Problems with slow movement speeds

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
placeholder
Prole

Problems with slow movement speeds

Post by placeholder »

Hi, I'm just learning, and i'm wondering if anyone can take a look at this and help?

I have some sprites in my project moving around at various speeds and it's all doing well until the sprites/objects/whatever slow down, at which time they start hitching and stop moving. I'm using low resolution and some little pixel art sprites that I made to keep it simple because I have no idea what i'm doing yet

I made an example of what i'm seeing, and it's presented below. I'm using the push library.

This code breaks when the rect.speed variable is low. When rect.speed is 50-ish or above, the rectangle moves smoothly across the screen. When rect.speed = 10, the rectangle does not move. When rect.speed = 30, the rectangle moves in a lurching fashion that I would like to avoid.

I've tried removing the line that rounds the rect.x variable, but the result is again lurching movement that I would like to avoid. I'm not even sure what problem I'm trying to solve, or why this is breaking at low speed. I'm grateful for any suggestions, thanks!

Code: Select all

push = require "push"
screenWidth = 320
screenHeight = 240
push:setupScreen(screenWidth, screenHeight, screenWidth * 2, screenHeight * 2)

function love.load()
 rect = {}
 rect.x = 20
 rect.y = 20
 rect.width = 100
 rect.height = 100
 rect.speed = 10
end

function love.update(dt)
 rect.x = rect.x + rect.speed * dt
 rect.x = math.floor(rect.x + 0.5)
end

function love.draw()
 push:start()
 love.graphics.rectangle("line", rect.x, rect.y, rect.width, rect.height)
 push:finish()
end
MrFariator
Party member

Re: Problems with slow movement speeds

Post by MrFariator »