how do you make doors?

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Kiro
Prole

how do you make doors?

Post by Kiro »

I'm still new to this and I wanna make this horror game with rooms that you can enter, I was wondering how I could make a functional door, can anyone please teach me how to do it
darkfrei
Party member

Re: how do you make doors?

Post by darkfrei »

Something like:

Code: Select all

function ifDoorCollision (door, player)
  if door.open then
    -- don't check the door
    return false
  else
    -- returns true on collision between door and player
    return ifCollision (door, player)
  end
end
:awesome: in Lua we Löve
:awesome: Platformer Guide
:awesome: freebies
MrFariator
Party member

Post by MrFariator »

You'll have to be a bit more specific by what you mean by doors. Do you mean doors that you can open/close, like what darkfrei's code suggests, or do you mean more like area transitions?
knorke
Party member

Post by knorke »

if the game is tile-based like Pacman or Sokoban ( https://simplegametutorials.github.io/love/sokoban/ ) and you already have collisions working then could just edit your level-table.
like:

Code: Select all

level[6][7] = empty --open the door
level[6][7] = wall --close the door
That is just to explain the principle, of course instead of hardcoded numbers you eventually might want something to keep track of doors and triggers that open/close them.
milon
Party member

Post by milon »

Kiro wrote: Tue Jun 21, 2022 5:09 am I'm still new to this and I wanna make this horror game with rooms that you can enter, I was wondering how I could make a functional door, can anyone please teach me how to do it
Show us what you have so far. It's unlikely anyone will create a whole (mini) game for you just to demonstrate this.

If you don't have anything yet, these are some of the things you'll want to consider: