linux server that supports love 2D lua

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Rigachupe
Citizen

linux server that supports love 2D lua

Post by Rigachupe »

I wonder if anybody here as at least an idea where to start? I seek something like a free linux server where i can deploy a .love file. That means i can install love2D there. Or at least something like a love console or lua console to help me test and develop an small online story telling app.

People would make a connection from a mobile device through love2D app. The app sends only json params and the server app sends back data to be viewed. Easy to do it on local pc. Problem is the server side. There i have no experiences on how the linux server operates (at least as a small test).

EDIT:
The server needs to exist out of my net provider because of IP adress not accessible to outside world. I looked at the google for something like a virtual linux server. Ideally where i see the desktop on which i would put some files directly to not mess around the terminal console.
Lattay
Prole

Re: linux server that supports love 2D lua

Post by Lattay »

I think you need to define more precisely what you want to do on the server.
Does the server receive JSON over HTTP POST, process it and send back response as the body ? (that seem to be the simplest thing to do with luasocket)

The good thing is any language and any runtime could work if you communicate with HTTP+JSON. If Lua is your prefered language no problem, but I don't think you should have the entire Love runtime on the server side.

Does the server store states between requests for a given player, or does the requests contains everything the server needs ?
If you don't need storage, there are various free plans at the big cloud providers, for example AWS Lambda and Google Cloud Functions (these are generally called Function as a Service).