Snake Game Movement

Showcase your libraries, tools and other projects that help your fellow love users.
blorbin
Prole

Snake Game Movement

Post by blorbin »

I am fairly new to LÖVE2D though i have experience with lua. I currently want to make a snake game, but I'm having trouble with making the movement of it. The best I've got is a white square that can move, and cant change opposite directions. Though, if you press up/down then press the opposite direction button, you will be able to. any idea's of how to make the movement like the snake, where it jumps a certain amount?
tuupakku
Prole

Re: Snake Game Movement

Post by tuupakku »

By incrementing the x and y positions in a fixed amount you can make it "jump" as you want. You can also achieve the delay between jumps by following the first example here: https://love2d.org/wiki/love.update only instead of making the npc think, you're making the snake jump to the next position.
blorbin
Prole

Post by blorbin »

tuupakku wrote:By incrementing the x and y positions in a fixed amount you can make it "jump" as you want. You can also achieve the delay between jumps by following the first example here: https://love2d.org/wiki/love.update only instead of making the npc think, you're making the snake jump to the next position.
Please explain more
tuupakku
Prole

Post by tuupakku »

blorbin wrote:
tuupakku wrote:By incrementing the x and y positions in a fixed amount you can make it "jump" as you want. You can also achieve the delay between jumps by following the first example here: https://love2d.org/wiki/love.update only instead of making the npc think, you're making the snake jump to the next position.
Please explain more
I have created a simple LÖVE project and commented it (perhaps a bit too much), maybe that will give you a better understanding of how it's supposed to work? Here it is:
Snake Movement.love
(818 Bytes) Downloaded 238 times