Capped frame limit for no reason *sigh*

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
User avatar
arampl
Party member
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 3:26 pm

Re: Capped frame limit for no reason *sigh*

Post by arampl »

This is true for Windows 7 on my machine as well - 100 FPS
User avatar
arampl
Party member
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 3:26 pm

Re: Capped frame limit for no reason *sigh*

Post by arampl »

In my current project I have heavy loaded background process which is executed as coroutine. Coroutine resumed in love.update().
I'm not against drawing at 60 FPS, but I need updating as fast as possible (or at higher frame rate, 125 for example :) ). Sleeping prevents this.
User avatar
pacman
Citizen
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 4:10 pm

Re: Capped frame limit for no reason *sigh*

Post by pacman »

I tried to lock FPS to 75. Should work if I can get only 100, right?
Nope, it's ~67.
It's a shame I don't have any restore point of windblowz and I won't reinstall system for this :crazy:
IMO every game should be turn based ;)
User avatar
zorg
Party member
Posts: 3444
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:55 pm
Location: Absurdistan, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Capped frame limit for no reason *sigh*

Post by zorg »

pacman wrote:I tried to lock FPS to 75. Should work if I can get only 100, right?
Nope, it's ~67.
It's a shame I don't have any restore point of windblowz and I won't reinstall system for this :crazy:
IMO every game should be turn based ;)
If you have a love.timer.sleep line (or if you're using the default love.run) then try to comment out that line (which might necessitate you to actually copy the function from the wiki first); if you are using vsync to do that locking, you will probably achieve 75FPS.
If not, again, love.timer.sleep is imprecise.

Edit: You do realize that even turn based games are animated, so fps matters there as well, right? :D
Me and my stuff :3True Neutral Aspirant. Why, yes, i do indeed enjoy sarcastically correcting others when they make the most blatant of spelling mistakes. No bullying or trolling the innocent tho.
User avatar
pacman
Citizen
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 4:10 pm

Re: Capped frame limit for no reason *sigh*

Post by pacman »

When I commented sleep() I got 100FPS. Sometimes it skips bit higher.
Checked older project where I had >400FPS and it's capped to 100FPS too. There is no intentional cap or v-sync.
It's hard to say what could make it work like that... I tried to compile program on windblowz so I installed a lot of .net's, sdk's and other "trash"... Maybe that has something to do with the problem.

I'm not keen on using v-sync and leaving this 100FPS cap isn't consistent :F
On Linux without cap I have <300FPS and it's perfect.
The cap method using sleep() is from love wiki and it worked for quite some time :)

Edit. Simple animation in turn based game can be v-synced 10 times to my refrigerator and transported back in vacuum cleaner - it'll be fine ;)
User avatar
Positive07
Party member
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:34 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: Capped frame limit for no reason *sigh*

Post by Positive07 »

Well you could hack your refrigerator and run LÖVE inside of it... it would probably pull more FPS than my PC hahaha
for i, person in ipairs(everybody) do
[tab]if not person.obey then person:setObey(true) end
end
love.system.openURL(github.com/pablomayobre)
User avatar
pacman
Citizen
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 4:10 pm

Re: Capped frame limit for no reason *sigh*

Post by pacman »

Image
User avatar
arampl
Party member
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 3:26 pm

Re: Capped frame limit for no reason *sigh*

Post by arampl »

Try love.timer.setObey(true). Rumors has it that this always helps ;)
User avatar
pacman
Citizen
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 4:10 pm

Re: Capped frame limit for no reason *sigh*

Post by pacman »

;)

I would reinstall windblowz but I don't have dvd-rom connected and my motherboard is too old for USB boot :roll:
That's what happens when there are no problems! Problems!
User avatar
Evine
Citizen
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 11:46 pm

Re: Capped frame limit for no reason *sigh*

Post by Evine »

Check if this program works on your computer. It uses a "while" loop to delay the frame rate.

The "love.timer.sleep" function is cursed I tell ya.
Attachments
targetframerate.love
(1.04 KiB) Downloaded 146 times
Artal, A .PSD loader: https://github.com/EvineDev/Artal
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 75 guests