Hi all! - Various questions on Love2d

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Lacotemale
Citizen

Hi all! - Various questions on Love2d

Post by Lacotemale »

Hey everyone,

I have made a few games which got to partial completion in a piece of software called Game Editor. Lots of stuff was done through the GUI but the rest was C programming. Although I made some great progress the development of the Game Editor tool has run pretty dry and im looking for an alternative, something more programming orientated. Seems like Love2d might be the solution. However, this will involve lots of learning if I am to port over my games.

I am a developer and know many languages but unfortunately Lua is not one of them. Already I started working on something and loading graphics was quite easy, same for mouse clicks but I kinda hit a wall after that. Im not sure where to go from here. The API docs are really great but don't describe how to do certain things.

1. In GameEditor you can create an Actor/Object. Is this done with creating a lua class?

2. I used to setup collisions through the GameEditor GUI. How does Love2d manage collisions? For example I used to add these through a GUI and add a physicalresponse of value 0 on the ground when the player collides.

3. I can register a mouse click but how do I register a mouse click on a particular object/actor? (then do an action)

4. In GameEditor I could have run1.png, run2.png, run3.png and it would load it as an image sequence. Is this possible with Love2d?

5. Android and IOS support? Does Love2d support these platforms?

This may be difficult for me to move across as I realize how easy the GUI in GameEditor made certain things for me. x)
micha
Inner party member

Re: Hi all! - Various questions on Love2d

Post by micha »

Hi and welcome to the forum.