Closed source love2d games...

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
herrybiscuit
Prole

Closed source love2d games...

Post by herrybiscuit »

Closed source love2d games are possible and i have done it with the magical powers of C++ (which i have been programming in for 3 years now). A basic rundown of how to do it is

1. grab source code
2. throw the lua code in it
3. edit some code
4. compile the love

the only reason why i am not making a full tutorial here is because this forum post would be many many many pages long. however i did make a full tutorial on my site http://herry.zerobiscuit.com/love2d-2/h ... ows-part1/. By the way i am very sorry for mac and linux users i don't have mac or linux machine only windows. Also, sorry for the self promotion but i felt i needed to spread my knowledge with the love2d community.
Azhukar
Party member

Re: Closed source love2d games...

Post by Azhukar »

s-ol
Party member

Post by s-ol »

Azhukar wrote:Welcome to 2010.
That can be easily extracted though. At least when you figure out its love2D.
Last edited by s-ol on Tue Dec 16, 2014 1:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

s-ol.nu /blog  -  p.s-ol.be /st8.lua  -  g.s-ol.be /gtglg /curcur

Code: Select all

print( type(love) )
if false then
  baby:hurt(me)
end
herrybiscuit
Prole

Post by herrybiscuit »

the only issue with creating the merged executable is that someone could open it with 7-zip and get the source code. the method that i made avoids it completely.
Azhukar
Party member

Post by Azhukar »

I find it amusing you believe lua bytecode conversion is any more protective than the append method.

Granted you will discourage non-programmers from accessing your code, similar to adding a color warning for the blind.
herrybiscuit
Prole

Post by herrybiscuit »

Azhukar wrote:I find it amusing you believe lua bytecode conversion is any more protective than the append method.