Looking for advice

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
maromaro
Prole

Looking for advice

Post by maromaro »

Hello, i am new to the framework and i don't know if there is any best practices i should follow or anything like that, for example what approach if best OOP or ECS. so i would appreciate any advice.
ReFreezed
Party member

Re: Looking for advice

Post by ReFreezed »

My advice is to not listen to any advice. :)

(Seriously though, everyone's got their own programming style and there's no right or wrong. While one "practice" works well for some, it doesn't work well for others. My actual advice is to look for your own style by doing programming instead of asking random people about what will just end up being a bunch of subjective opinions.)
Tools: Hot Particles, LuaPreprocess, InputField, (more) Games: Momento Temporis
"If each mistake being made is a new one, then progress is being made."
maromaro
Prole

Post by maromaro »

ReFreezed wrote: Thu Dec 03, 2020 10:14 pm My advice is to not listen to any advice. :)

(Seriously though, everyone's got their own programming style and there's no right or wrong. While one "practice" works well for some, it doesn't work well for others. My actual advice is to look for your own style by doing programming instead of asking random people about what will just end up being a bunch of subjective opinions.)
Thank you i appreciate your response :D , and i will indeed star developing my own Programming Style.
sphyrth
Party member

Post by sphyrth »

I wanna start the discussion (because I naturally want someone to disagree with this).

If you're new to programming in general, OOP it's intuitive.
If you're quite advanced, ECS is a good option since we're in a generation that says "OOP is Dead".
maromaro
Prole

Post by maromaro »

sphyrth wrote: Thu Dec 03, 2020 11:14 pm I wanna start the discussion (because I naturally want someone to disagree with this).