Noobie just discovered LOVE. Tips for a top down sports game?

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
togFox
Party member

Noobie just discovered LOVE. Tips for a top down sports game?

Post by togFox »

I'm above average at LUA and I've been thinking about this new sports game for about 18 months. Can't shake it and it's time to make some concepts for play testing.

Discovered LOVE and flicked through the manual. LOVE has a physics engine which frankly, I never even thought about so that's fantastic!

I'm planning out a top down sports game. Think hockey - looking straight down. There will be a puck. Two teams. Physical objects moving around and bumping into each other.

This is day 1 and I'm going to love this journey. I'm not a noob programmer but I am noob to LOVE and it's libaries. Any early words of caution as I start this?

Cheers n beers.
Current project:
https://togfox.itch.io/backyard-gridiron-manager
American football manager/sim game - build and manage a roster and win season after season
togFox
Party member

Re: Noobie just discovered LOVE. Tips for a top down sports game?

Post by togFox »

I'm still reading lots. Can anyone suggest if I can or should use the different physics libraries? I'll have hockey players voicing of each other and the wall and whilst subjected to force and momentum they will have 'free' will to influence their movement and the game.

I'm currently setting up classes, properties and functions and intended to make my own physics (velocity/acceleration/mass/impulse/momentum) but if there is an easier way then I'll read up on that.
Current project:
American football manager/sim game - build and manage a roster and win season after season
ivan
Party member

Post by ivan »