LovelyBigPlanet

Show off your games, demos and other (playable) creations.
Post Reply
User avatar
Robin
The Omniscient
Posts: 6506
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: LovelyBigPlanet

Post by Robin » Wed Oct 07, 2009 5:40 am

Did you make a correct .love then? The main.lua file must be directly in the top-level of the .love.
Help us help you: attach a .love.

wired22
Prole
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 3:53 am

Re: LovelyBigPlanet

Post by wired22 » Fri Oct 09, 2009 12:59 am

I'm pretty sure that it is the .love file. I don't do a thing to the files inside. The main.lua file is on the top most level. Again, I'm pretty sure the problem is in my Love player. I would make a simple program (press up=thing goes up) and then make it a .love and it still wouldn't work.

EDIT= I am sorry for any trouble caused BUT APPARENTLY Ubuntu automagically makes another folder inside the zip.

User avatar
Robin
The Omniscient
Posts: 6506
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: LovelyBigPlanet

Post by Robin » Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:59 am

wired22 wrote:EDIT= I am sorry for any trouble caused BUT APPARENTLY Ubuntu automagically makes another folder inside the zip.
Other OSs have this too, this is the normal behavior because it prevents people from unpacking .zips with a lot of files in their current directory -- causing a lot of chaos. Because LÖVE uses the files inside the .zip, that approach doesn't work there.

What works is manually putting your files into the zip (or reorganizing the zip, so everything is in top level).
Help us help you: attach a .love.

User avatar
bartbes
Sex machine
Posts: 4946
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:35 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: LovelyBigPlanet

Post by bartbes » Fri Oct 09, 2009 1:27 pm

This only happens when you try to zip the folder instead of the contents, so enter the folder, select all files, hit the right button on your mouse and click on create the archive. Now everything should work.

User avatar
bartbes
Sex machine
Posts: 4946
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:35 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: LovelyBigPlanet

Post by bartbes » Wed Oct 28, 2009 3:07 pm

Public beta time:
1.0PublicBeta.love
Public Beta 1.0
(327.26 KiB) Downloaded 273 times
NOTE: This is compatible with 0.6.0 ONLY!

User avatar
Tenoch
Citizen
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 7:49 am

Re: LovelyBigPlanet

Post by Tenoch » Wed Oct 28, 2009 5:27 pm

wired22 wrote:EDIT= I am sorry for any trouble caused BUT APPARENTLY Ubuntu automagically makes another folder inside the zip.
I suppose you meant "file-roller", the default graphical archive manager thingie in Gnome, the default desktop environment of Ubuntu?
Duh i'm just playing on words. ^^
"When in doubt, use brute force." Ken Thompson

User avatar
kalle2990
Party member
Posts: 245
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 1:17 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: LovelyBigPlanet

Post by kalle2990 » Wed Oct 28, 2009 5:34 pm

I notice a bug when trying to write something in the textfields. Is this known or is it just something you just randomly forgot?

User avatar
Robin
The Omniscient
Posts: 6506
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: LovelyBigPlanet

Post by Robin » Wed Oct 28, 2009 5:48 pm

kalle2990 wrote:I notice a bug when trying to write something in the textfields. Is this known or is it just something you just randomly forgot?
This probably is a LoveUI bug. Could you tell exactly:
  • What the problem is?
  • How we can reproduce it?
Help us help you: attach a .love.

User avatar
kalle2990
Party member
Posts: 245
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 1:17 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: LovelyBigPlanet

Post by kalle2990 » Wed Oct 28, 2009 5:56 pm

Oh, sorry I forgot to explain ^^
Go to Edit in the main menu and then Settings. Select one of the textfields and press space, the custom error screen will come up saying "attempt to compare number with nil".
I guess it's because LoveUI uses the old constants which don't exists anymore.

And a small question on top of that when still talking about GUIs, what is the function for getting the pressed key with the correct case?

User avatar
bartbes
Sex machine
Posts: 4946
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:35 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: LovelyBigPlanet

Post by bartbes » Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:26 pm

Only works in the keypressed callback and is the second argument you get.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests