[HELP] Proper scaling methods..

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
roccdcasbah
Prole

[HELP] Proper scaling methods..

Post by roccdcasbah »

Hello! Long time lurker, first time posting here!
Am also a total newbie to lua scripting ( about 6 months ).

Also sorry for the bad code formatting in this post, cant seem to figure out how to properly copy-paste my code unto here! :ultrahappy:

Im having a hard time figuring out how to scale up my project to window size.

I´ve been working on a small game for a while and have always intended to run it in a 256x256px window but thought that it would look nicer to run fullscreen and scale it up by using nearest neighbour interpolation, for that lofi look.

Now I´ve tried using love.graphics.scale to blow up the coord system and all that but cant seem to figure it out, I´ve also been considering using a camera library for this, like kikitos gamera or hump.camera. My main problem is figuring out how to wrap my draw functions correctly for this to work, i´ve been using https://github.com/tanema/light_world.lua for lighting and this bad boy is reacting very badly to my attempts to implement scaling or camera modules. Guess I should implement camera and scaling stuff earlier in development BEFORE he project is cluttered with mediocre code!

Anyway..
Heres how my draw functions look:

First i have a ghetto gamestate engine that draws the appropriate stuff for the occasion:

Code: Select all

function gamestate.draw(a)
if a == "1" 
then
 lightWorld:draw(function()
 chunkDraw()
 enemy.draw()
 items.draw()
 player_draw()
 ChunkDrawExtras()
 end)
And in the main loops i call:

function love.draw()
gamestate.draw(currentState)
end
Now, with kikitos gamera for example i tried to set up a new camera ( been using gamera before and it worked beautifully, but i seem to run into problems when combining it with tanemas light_world) and drawing it like this:

-- Under love.draw() in main.lua