.exe does not work in windows xp

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
worldaway
Prole
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:22 am

.exe does not work in windows xp

Post by worldaway » Sun May 27, 2012 1:47 am

I compiled my program in windows 7 64bit, and it works fine as an exe. I then transferred it over to a windows xp computer, and it does not work correctly. The music loads in and is playing, but none of the graphics are there in the framed window.
Is this something to do with 64 bit vs. 32 bit OS? Do I need to compile with a 32bit option? Does anyone know what the problem is?
Thanks.

kesac
Prole
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 12:29 am
Contact:

Re: .exe does not work in windows xp

Post by kesac » Sun May 27, 2012 1:56 am

Which version of LÖVE (32-bit or 64-bit) did you use to create your .exe? Is your Windows XP computer 32-bit or 64-bit? I'm thinking your XP machine is most likely 32-bit and you used the 64-bit of LÖVE to build that .exe. Try building the .exe with the 32-bit version and see if it works.
Have you met the Child of Winter?

User avatar
Boolsheet
Inner party member
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 4:57 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: .exe does not work in windows xp

Post by Boolsheet » Sun May 27, 2012 6:02 am

It's playing music and LÖVE didn't terminate with a 'love.exe stopped working/had to be terminated'? So it's just a black window that you can properly close? Sounds like a graphics driver issue.

64-bit executables won't run on 32-bit XP. There would be no music if a 64-bit LÖVE was used. ;)
Shallow indentations.

worldaway
Prole
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:22 am

Re: .exe does not work in windows xp

Post by worldaway » Wed Jun 06, 2012 2:46 am

BIG UPDATE:

I imported in some simpler games to my xp machine, and discovered that the machine can not link the images for some reason. All the regular graphics will load in, but the images that are attached to them are not loaded in. The reason why no graphics loaded in for my first game is because all of the graphics in that game are images. The computer can open the image files individually, but they will not work in the game. Why is this happening?

Thanks, please help.

User avatar
Qcode
Party member
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 1:35 am

Re: .exe does not work in windows xp

Post by Qcode » Wed Jun 06, 2012 3:04 am

Your images are normal sizes, right? Not huge like above 1000 pixels?

worldaway
Prole
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:22 am

Re: .exe does not work in windows xp

Post by worldaway » Thu Jun 07, 2012 11:13 pm

Qcode wrote:Your images are normal sizes, right? Not huge like above 1000 pixels?
I don't think so, they worked fine on my windows 7 computer. Why would that be an issue?

User avatar
Boolsheet
Inner party member
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 4:57 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: .exe does not work in windows xp

Post by Boolsheet » Fri Jun 08, 2012 12:45 am

worldaway wrote:I don't think so, they worked fine on my windows 7 computer. Why would that be an issue?
Some graphics drivers only support images with a resolution up to 512x512.
Shallow indentations.

worldaway
Prole
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:22 am

Re: .exe does not work in windows xp

Post by worldaway » Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:52 am

BIG UPDATE AGAIN:
I tried creating a small image and running it, that was only about 30 pixels, and it still wouldn't show up. I also went to another xp computer, and it had the same issue. I have no idea what is going on.

doschnik
Prole
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 8:14 am

Re: .exe does not work in windows xp

Post by doschnik » Tue Jun 12, 2012 8:48 am

I have the same issue with win xp 64bit. When i use a native 32bit xp everything works fine?

User avatar
bartbes
Sex machine
Posts: 4946
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:35 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: .exe does not work in windows xp

Post by bartbes » Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:11 pm

Are you sure you're using 0.8.0, because NPOT images not showing up sounds an awful lot like 0.6.0-0.7.2.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests