Game making help.

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Lahst
Prole

Game making help.

Post by Lahst »

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=34JbhA154To ;; My general concept is based off of this.

My knowledge of LUA and programming in general is very minimal, but I do at least have a grasp of the very basics just by playing with LOVE.

So what I am asking is, does anyone have any basic coding tips that can help me get a game similar to this in concept?
Mainly I want:
-A character that moves and shoots. (Does not need any weight variables, flying around the screen is fine)
Shooting is the troublesome part.
-Enemies that can be destoryed.

Any tutorials designed for complete newbies would be awesome too. Every tutorial I have found seems to be really complex.

Would it be easier to do a side scrolling perspective rather than a Z variable for depth of space?

Hmm. I just feel so lost. >_>;
Ryne
Party member

Re: Game making help.

Post by Ryne »

There arent really any "tips" that anyone can tell you, though if you know the language all of these things become very easy to do. Creating an player that flys around is very basic. I will give you the run down of how love works.

Basically there are 3 main callbacks of any game you create. These are love.load, love.update, and love.draw. Creating a player is easy. Here is the most basic form of a "player" you can create, as well as how to move him around.

Code: Select all

function love.load() -- this is where all of the loading takes place, like sounds, images, font's etc.

player = {} -- here I created a table called player
     player.hp = 100 -- the player's HP
     player.x = 50 -- the players X variable
     player.y = 50 -- the players Y variable
     player.image = love.graphics.newImage("image.png") -- this is how you load an image

end

function love.update(dt)