Information on the game industry

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
baconhawka7x
Party member

Information on the game industry

Post by baconhawka7x »

I am currently a sophomore in High School. And being a high schooler, I am being faced with a lot of questions about my future.

I am hoping to get into the game development industry (as you could imagine) and I was wondering if there was anyone on the forums that had any basic advice for me. I am currently planning to attend Digipen, a college for game development, and hopefully breaking into the industry shortly there-after.

I am posting this not only to benefit me, but because I think it could benefit some others on the forums as well.

Thanks in advanced.

Also, thought I should mention. I just recently job-shadowed/toured a studio near my town called Super Genius (http://supergenius-studio.com/), they did art for quite a few famous games. I learned quite a bit from them.
  • •Being able to communicate/work with a team is one of the most valued things in the industry
    •Education itself is not very important to the industry, but it can be a good tool to learn
    •Having some form of previous work that you have done (outside of school) to show is important
Again, thanks in advanced.
ivan
Party member

Re: Information on the game industry

Post by ivan »

First of all, it should be pointed out that the gaming industry is quite varied so there are many ways to work on games without getting a 9-5 job at a large studio. If you do want to work for a big game company that's fine and yes Digipen is definitely one of the best ways to go. Personally, I would be more interested in working as an indie or on a very small team because then you get a lot more creative freedom.

Some other things I would point out:
-if you want to work as a programmer, a degree in computer science will come a long way, this will allow you to work in other areas in addition to gamedev