Can I add c/c++ or possibly c# to my love2d game?

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
psemo
Prole

Can I add c/c++ or possibly c# to my love2d game?

Post by psemo »

If so how can I? I have never used more than one languages before, you don't need to come up with a step by step guide but is there a video I should watch? Is there a docunmentation I should read? What should I google? Anything would be great. (I would prefer c# wayyyy above c++ and c)
duaner
Prole

Re: Can I add c/c++ or possibly c# to my love2d game?

Post by duaner »

I'd be shocked if lua on luajit doesn't run as fast as compiled c#. The last time I benchmarked luajit against c code, it was about half as fast, on average, which is extraordinary for a scripting language. Even vanilla lua is extremely fast on my system. I don't usually bother with luajit.
Bigfoot71
Party member

Post by Bigfoot71 »

For C# there is love2DCS but it doesn't seem to be maintained since 2020, and for C there is FFI, it can be useful for critical tasks and with JIT of course otherwise it's extremely slow.
duaner wrote: Thu Apr 27, 2023 12:21 am I'd be shocked if lua on luajit doesn't run as fast as compiled c#. The last time I benchmarked luajit against c code, it was about half as fast, on average, which is extraordinary for a scripting language. Even vanilla lua is extremely fast on my system. I don't usually bother with luajit.
Clearly if it's to use a wrap anyway it won't be good for performance, so might as well use another framework like Raylib or Monogame but it will be less lovely :ultraglee:
My avatar code for the curious :D V1, V2, V3.
dusoft
Party member

Post by dusoft »

I would recommend a bit of googling before asking, but surely you can call C++ functions from Lua:
http://gamedevgeek.com/tutorials/callin ... -from-lua/
pgimeno
Party member

Post by pgimeno »