Endless Dark, a psychological horror roguelite, now on Steam

Show off your games, demos and other (playable) creations.
soulmata
Prole

Endless Dark, a psychological horror roguelite, now on Steam

Post by soulmata »

Built in LOVE, obviously.

Endless Dark is a psychological horror roguelite-like I have been building with my buddy for the past 8 months or so. The core premise of the game is very simple: You are a robot tasked with keeping a sleeper colony ship intact. Every turn, various systems on the ship will break, and you must repair them. The longer the game goes on, the faster the ship breaks down, and it's up to you to repair it. That's it! The complications arise as you, yourself, start to wear down - your robot becomes tired, becomes stressed, and starts losing his mind. It ends up being a race to the cross the finish line before you dive into total psychosis or end up accidentally killing all your passengers.

There are no enemies, no NPCs, no one and nothing at all to help you pass the time - just the endless drudgery and toil to keep you company as you whittle away the decades in isolation, hopefully staying sane until the end.

https://store.steampowered.com/app/2290890/

Mechanics in a nutshell:
* Turn-based roguelite-like
* Extremely heavily narrative driven
* Hundreds of random events to keep each iteration interesting

Since it was built in LOVE, if anyone has any questions about what methods I used or how I built it, feel free to ask. Some of it might be obvious to veterans here who use the engine regularly.