Keeping track of memory used by images

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
CorruptionEX
Prole

Keeping track of memory used by images

Post by CorruptionEX »

(Note: This post used to named "How to handle a lot of images?", but I felt that was a bad name for this...)

Hello everyone :)

SHORT VERSION:
How are images held in memory? Like, does imageData:getSize() and love.filesystem.getSize() give the size of the loaded image, or the size of the just the file? I'm not an expert on computers, but isn't the images 'expanded' when it's loaded, and takes up a different amount of RAM when loaded than it does on disk? I want to count the amount of space my loaded images take up, so what is the best way to do this?

LONG VERSION: (Wow, you must like to read my redundant stories... well, if you want to...)
So I was thinking one day: "Gee, it sure is annoying to have all my images stored in separate tables all over my game". I felt if two files are to use the same image, the image should be loaded somewhere general so both can reference it, rather than one file 'own' the image, and the other file have to reference the first.

I had an 'Image' table that looked something like this:

Code: Select all

Image = {
	roster = {},

newImage = function(self, filepath, imageName)
		self.roster[imageName] = love.graphics.newImage(filepath)
	end,

get = function(self, imageName)
		return self.roster[imageName]
	end
}
And that worked very well until I wanted to load sprite sheets and animations. They need quads, and are all in the same image, which was a problem for my current method of doing things. Now, i'm not gonna try and reinvent that code, but you could imagine how it worked.

Rather than loading images like this:

Image:newImage("blah/blah/bloop_1.png", "BloopBody")
Image:newImage("blah/blah/bloop_2.png", "BloopTop")