Gravity

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
chocolat_en_poudre
Prole

Gravity

Post by chocolat_en_poudre »

Hi ! I just started learning love2d and im making a smash bros like game with bump.lua but it hasn't gravity fonctionality.
Can someone help me how to implement it please ?
darkfrei
Party member

Re: Gravity

Post by darkfrei »

chocolat_en_poudre wrote: Mon Oct 23, 2023 1:38 pm Hi ! I just started learning love2d and im making a smash bros like game with bump.lua but it hasn't gravity fonctionality.
Just add the vertical acceleration multiple dt to you vertical velocity and than vertical velocity multiple dt to your vertical position.
:awesome: in Lua we Löve
:awesome: Platformer Guide
:awesome: freebies
tourgen
Citizen

Post by tourgen »

darkfrei wrote: Mon Oct 23, 2023 3:13 pm
chocolat_en_poudre wrote: Mon Oct 23, 2023 1:38 pm Hi ! I just started learning love2d and im making a smash bros like game with bump.lua but it hasn't gravity fonctionality.
Just add the vertical acceleration multiple dt to you vertical velocity and than vertical velocity multiple dt to your vertical position.

F = m * a. m = mass. a = -9.8m/s^2 at ~ sea level (gravity). -> a = F/m. Given mass of your player, F is solved for.

velocity is the integral of acceleration. If you are not familiar with calculus, calculate velocity incrementally each timestep (using dt) i.e. v = dt * a, where a (accel due to gravity) is negative (see above, -9.8). the negative denotes down. positive is up. The second integral of accel is position, FYI.
darkfrei
Party member

Post by darkfrei »

tourgen wrote: Tue Oct 24, 2023 1:03 am F = m * a. m = mass. a = -9.8m/s^2 at ~ sea level (gravity). -> a = F/m. Given mass of your player, F is solved for.