[Help] Techniques for scaling

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
glass2d
Prole

[Help] Techniques for scaling

Post by glass2d »

Background
I'm new to LOVE and could use some guidance on navigating certain aspects. Currently, I'm developing a top-down pixel art game with a 16:9 aspect ratio. The native resolution of the game is set to 480 x 270, and I've implemented the HUMP library for creating a camera that tracks the player. To maintain a consistent visual experience, I've opted for a camera scale of 4/3. When upscaling the game, such as to 1920x1080, I multiply both the camera scale and window dimensions by 4, ensuring proper scaling.

Issue
After scaling up, I've encountered tearing in the visuals. My game map is constructed using Tiled with a 16x16 tile set. Researching on forums, I found suggestions to use math.floor on the camera's x and y coordinates to address tearing. However, implementing this solution causes the player to appear jittery as the camera snaps to integer values. The player's movement is continuous in both x and y directions, while the camera's coordinates are floored. Additionally, I prefer to maintain the decimal scaling for the 4/3 camera scale, as it provides the best visual aesthetics. Some sources also recommend extruding the tiles to alleviate tearing, but I'm hesitant to undertake that task for every tile without certainty of its necessity.

I'm seeking insights into effective techniques to mitigate these issues while preserving the desired visual presentation.
pgimeno
Party member

Re: [Help] Techniques for scaling

Post by pgimeno »

What do you mean by jittery? Do you mean it snaps to virtual 480x270 pixels, and you want it to have screen-pixel movement as opposed to virtual-pixel movement? I find it hard to imagine what can be producing the tearing with the data you've provided.