Weird Alpha, Layers, Sound and Rotate image to mouse pos

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
WolfosoBastardo
Prole

Weird Alpha, Layers, Sound and Rotate image to mouse pos

Post by WolfosoBastardo »

Alright so(I started using LÖVE a few days ago, I've been scripting Lua on Garry's Mod for 2-3 years), there are three little problems I'm having:
1°Weird Alpha

As you can see
Even though I'm setting color with this

Code: Select all

love.graphics.setColor( 226, 65, 65, 255 )
, alpha still doesn't appear to be 255. What am I doing wrong?

2° Layers.

Same image as above, you can see, the tank's barrel is above its base, which isn't suppose to happen. I tried to put the piece of code where I both load and draw the image above or below the base load / draw code, but nothing happened.

3° love.audio.play()

Whenever the tank shoots, it is supposed to play a sound, but it only works sometimes...

4° How do I rotate an image so that it always follows the mouse position? My brother suggested using sine and cosine but I couldn't seem to find the right operation on the wiki.

Thanks for anything helpful you are going to post!
Attachments
test.zip
Project
(1.43 MiB) Downloaded 159 times
Robin
The Omniscient

Re: Weird Alpha, Layers, Sound and Rotate image to mouse pos

Post by Robin »

I'm not sure what exactly is going on here, but here are a few things I noticed:
  1. You uploaded a .zip with a .love in it. It is preferred to upload the .love directly to the forums.
  2. The color problems you have might be due to the colormode or the blendmode, I'm not sure. Try experimenting with them.
  3. Please don't put code that is not directly related to drawing things in love.draw. That's where love.update is for.
  4. To point something to something else, you need math.atan2. Specifically:

rotation = math.atan2(drawy - mousey, mousex - drawx)